41°FFairFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

St. Charles North students named semifinalists

Published: Thursday, Sept. 27, 2012 5:30 a.m. CDT

ST. CHARLES – St. Charles North High School students Johnathon Small and Hannah Werman have been named semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program, St. Charles School District 303 announced Wednesday.

They are among 16,000 students nationwide who have been selected for this honor. Finalists will be notified in February.

Twelve D-303 students have also earned commended status in the National Merit program. At St. Charles East, they are Yash Bhatia, Clayton Davis, John McDermott, Jason Obrecht, Katherine Swartz, Steven Wang and Benjamin Womack. At St. Charles North, they are Elizabeth Czapski, Todd Dickey, Noah Meyer, Victoria Rutherford and Ashley Sillin.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the program by taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship qualifying test and by meeting published entry/participation requirements.

About 16,000 students nationwide, or about one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified they have qualified as semifinalists.

Semifinalists advance to finalist by meeting high academic standards and other requirements. Scholarship winners are notified beginning in March.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.