Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.
Local Government

Crowded races emerge on first day of filing

So far, the race for the Geneva School District 304 board has generated the most interest in April’s consolidated election.

Monday was the first day to file nominating petitions for the election. Eight people filed for four seats on the District 304 board. The last day to file nominating petitions is Dec. 26.

Among those filing were Geneva school board members Bill Wilson and Mark Grosso, who is board president, along with newcomers Robert L. Cabeen, Jeffrey K. DiOrio, Fred A. Dresser, Daniel J. Garrett, David J. Lamb and Jay Moffat.

Because at least five people filed at the same time, a lottery will be at 8:30 a.m. Wednesday in the school district’s Central Office to determine their position on the ballot.

Moffat also filed for a four-year term on the Geneva Library Board. Also filing for four-year terms on that board were incumbents Esther Barclay, David Creighton and Steve Andersson. Incumbent Bob Shiffler filed for a two-year term.

In addition, Geneva Mayor Kevin Burns is facing opposition from Bob McQuillan. There is at least one contested aldermanic race because Zachary Ploppert and Michael Bruno are running for the spot.

Incumbent Richard Marks filed for 2nd Ward, incumbent Dawn Vogelsberg filed for 3rd Ward, incumbent Ronald Singer filed for 4th Ward and incumbent Ralph Dantino filed for 5th Ward.

St. Charles

In St. Charles, three people filed to replace St. Charles Mayor Don DeWitte, who is not seeking re-election: 3rd Ward Alderman Raymond Rogina, John Rabchuk and Jotham Stein.

Several contests are emerging on the St. Charles City Council. First Ward Alderman Jon Monken is facing a challenge from Ronald Silkaitis; 2nd Ward Alderman Clifford Carrignan faces a challenge from former Alderman Arthur Lemke; 3rd Ward Alderman William Turner faces a challenge from Mario Van Der Heyden; and 5th Ward Alderwoman Maureen Lewis faces a challenge from Kimberly Malay.

Fourth Ward Alderwoman Jo Krieger also filed for re-election, along with City Treasurer Warren Drewes.

Five people have filed for four seats on the St. Charles School District 303 board. Newcomer Jim Conro is running along with incumbent school board members Jim Gaffney, Steve Spurling, Mike Vyzral and Corrine Pierog, who have filed for re-election.


So far, there will be two races on the Batavia City Council. Fourth Ward Alderman Jim Volk will face a challenge from Jamie Saam, and two people have filed for the 6th Ward seat: Nick Cerone and Ron Rechenmacher.

In addition, 1st Ward Alderman Michael O’Brien filed for re-election; Martin Callahan filed for the 2nd Ward spot; and Steve Vasilion filed for 5th Ward.

Five people have filed for four seats on the Batavia School District 101 board. Batavia school board member Tina Bleakley, who was appointed in July to fill a board vacancy, is running for a seat, along with Jonathan Gasper, Sue Locke, Michael Papka and Jason Stoops.


Village President David Anderson filed for re-election, along with Trustee Kenneth Anderson. Also filing for Village Board were Richard Garcia and Patricia (Pat) Schuberg.

Sugar Grove

Sugar Grove Village President Sean Michels faces a challenge from Trustee Kevin Geary. Village Board Trustees Robert Bohler and Rick Montalto, along with newcomers Gayle Deja-Schultz and Stephanie Landorf, filed for the three open seats on the board.

Kaneland School District 302 board

Cheryl Krauspe, board president, filed for re-election.

Campton Hills Village Board

Incumbents John Strauss and Al Lenkaitis filed for re-election. Newcomer Harry Blecker also filed.

Loading more