Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.
Local Government

Races set for April elections

The races are set for April's consolidated election.

Wednesday was the last day for candidates to file their nominating petitions for the April 9 election, which will feature crowded races, including four candidates running for St. Charles mayor.

Also, Geneva Mayor Kevin Burns faces a challenge from Bob McQuillan. No candidates filed to run against Batavia Mayor Jeff Schielke or Elburn Village President Dave Anderson.

In Sugar Grove, Village President Sean Michels will be opposed by Kevin Geary. And Pat Hill and Rick Peck will run for village president in Kaneville. Peck has been acting as the interim village president.

A look at the races:


Schielke, who is running for his ninth term, filed for re-election on Wednesday. He faces no opposition.

Also on Wednesday, 5th Ward Alderman Eldon Frydendall, who also is seeking a ninth term, filed for re-election. Frydendall will face opposition, as Steve Vasilion previously filed nominating petitions to run for the spot.

Also filing Wednesday was Kyle Hohmann for 3rd Ward. Third Ward Alderman Janet Jungels is not running for re-election.

Fourth Ward Alderman Jim Volk will face a challenge from Jamie Saam, and three people have filed for the 6th Ward seat – 6th Ward Alderman Robert Liva and newcomers Nick Cerone and Ron Rechenmacher.

In addition, 1st Ward Alderman Michael O’Brien filed for re-election, and Martin Callahan filed for the open 2nd Ward spot. No one has filed for the open seat in the 7th Ward. Seventh Ward Alderman Dawn Tenuta is not running for re-election.

Batavia City Clerk Heidi Wetzel and Batavia City Treasurer Gerald Miller also filed for re-election.

Five people filed for four seats on the Batavia School District 101 board before Wednesday's deadline. Batavia school board member Tina Bleakley, who was appointed in July to fill a board vacancy, is running for a seat, along with Jonathan Gasper, Sue Locke, Michael Papka and Jason Stoops.

Campton Hills Village Board

Four candidates are running for three seats on the village board. Newcomer Harry Blecker filed nominating petitions, along with incumbents John Strauss, Al Lenkaitis Jr., and Mike Millette.


Village President Dave Anderson is running unopposed for re-election.

Five people have also filed petitions for three open Elburn Village Board seats. Those who filed include incumbent Ken Anderson; Richard Garcia; Michael Rullman; Patricia "Pat" J. Schuberg; and incumbent Jeff Walter.


Incumbent 2nd Ward Alderman Donald Cummings filed to finish a two-year term on the Geneva City Council. Cummings was appointed to finish the term of former 2nd Ward Alderman Robert Piper, who resigned after he moved out of the ward. Incumbent Richard Marks also filed for the 2nd Ward.

Also filing for the April 9 consolidated election are incumbent Mayor Kevin Burns and challenger Bob McQuillan. Also, newcomers Zac Ploppert and Michael Bruno filed in the 1st Ward, as current alderman Sam Hill is not seeking re-election; incumbent Dawn Vogelsberg for the 3rd Ward, incumbent Ronald Singer for the 4th Ward and Ralph Dantino for the 5th Ward.

For Geneva School District 304 board, nine candidates filed for four four-year terms. They are incumbents Mark Grosso and William Wilson. Also filing are newcomers Robert Cabeen, David Lamb, Daniel Garrett, Jeffrey DiOrio, Fred Dresser, Jay Moffatt and Leslie Juby. In 2011, Cabeen lost his school board bid, and Juby was not re-elected.

St. Charles

Nearly every seat on the St. Charles City Council will be contested.

It will be a four-way race for mayor. Candidates are John Rabchuk, 3rd Ward alderman Ray Rogina, Jotham Stein and Jake Wyatt. Current Mayor Don DeWitte is not seeking re-election.

Ronald Silkaitis and Justin Osborne will challenge alderman Jon Monken to represent the 1st Ward.

In the 2nd Ward, alderman Cliff Carrignan will face Arthur Lemke; Mario VanDerHeyden will challenge 3rd Ward incumbent Bill Turner; and 5th Ward alderman Maureen Lewis will compete with Kim Malay.

Jo Krieger of the 4th Ward is the only alderman running unopposed.

City treasurer Warren Drewes is also seeking re-election and has no challenger.

Eight people will compete for four seats on the St. Charles School District 303 Board, according to the nominating petitions filed with the district by 5 p.m. Wednesday.

Edward McNally filed his paperwork Wednesday. Nominating petitions were filed last week by incumbents Jim Gaffney, Steve Spurling, Mike Vyzral and Corinne Pierog, and newcomers Jim Conro, Nancy Muzzey and Richard Leidig.

In the school board's last election, one incumbent and two newcomers ran unopposed for three four-year terms. The spring 2011 election was noted in a lawsuit several families filed against the school district about the reconfiguration of Davis and Richmond elementary schools.

They alleged D-303 was in violation of due process by withholding details of the plan until February and that knowledge of the proposal could have prompted more people to run for school board in April.


Pat Hill and interim village president Rick Peck have filed petitions for village president.

Four people have filed for three open seats on the Kaneville Village Board. Those who filed petitions include incumbents Jon Behm and Nick Garifalis and newcomers Carl Houser and Eric Kroehnert.

Maple Park

Village President Kathy Curtis is running for re-election, and no one filed to run against her. Four candidates filed to fill three four-year terms – Gergory Cutsinger, Lucas Goucher, Brian Kinane and Terry Borg. Three candidates filed to fill two two-year terms – Stephan Nowak, Debra Armstrong and Christopher Higgins.

Sugar Grove

Sugar Grove Village President Sean Michels faces a challenge from Trustee Kevin Geary. Village Board Trustees Robert Bohler and Rick Montalto, along with newcomers Gayle Deja-Schultz, Stephanie Landorf and Sean Herron filed for the three open seats on the board.

• News editor Al Lagattolla and reporters Ashley Rhodebeck, Brenda Schory and Nicole Weskerna also contributed to this report.

Loading more