Rain Fog/Mist
42°FRain Fog/MistFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

St. Charles announces parade chairman

Published: Saturday, Jan. 26, 2013 5:30 a.m. CDT

ST. CHARLES – Craig Larsen has been named chairman of the St. Patrick’s Parade, which is set for 2 p.m. March 16 in downtown St. Charles, the Downtown St. Charles Partnership announced this week.

The annual parade now is under the direction of the Downtown St. Charles Partnership. Larsen, a St. Charles resident, has volunteered for the partnership for several years and was chairman of the Holiday Homecoming and Electric Christmas Parade.

He is founder and president of AHC Advisors Inc. and is treasurer for the Financial Planning Association of Illinois.

The parade committee also includes these community volunteers: John Hughes of N. Henry and Son; Steve Martin of First State Bank; Darlene Riebe, resident; Betsy Penny, resident; Suzanne Simons, resident; Pam Biermann, Doc Morgan; Jan Wilson, Hair Capers; Marty Strauss, St. Charles Veterinary Clinic; and Shay Clarke, McNally’s Traditional Irish Pub.

Parade entry applications will be accepted through Feb. 20. Past entries have included bands, Irish dancers, authentic Irish music, floats, school groups, preschools and service clubs. The fee is $250 for businesses, $125 for partnership members and free for nonprofit entries. Visit www.downtownstcharles.org/stpats for application documents.

The parade is co-sponsored by McNally’s Traditional Irish Pub and the city of St. Charles.

Call the Downtown St. Charles Partnership at 630-443-3967 or email info@downtownstcharles.org for information.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.