49°FOvercastFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

St. Charles community group plans non-incumbent meeting

Published: Thursday, Feb. 7, 2013 5:30 a.m. CDT

ST. CHARLES – Members of a community group are giving non-incumbent aldermanic candidates for the St. Charles City Council a chance to be heard.

2R2R – River to Randall, Railway to Route 64 – is sponsoring a meeting for the non-incumbent candidates at 7 p.m. today at VFW Post 5036, 119 N. Third St.

A $1 donation a person will be collected for the VFW.

Chairman Joseph Masiokas said the community group wanted to give non-incumbent candidates a chance to introduce themselves and their platforms to voters. Incumbents have the advantage in elections, he said.

The non-incumbent candidates are Justin Osborne and Ronald Silkaitis in the 1st Ward; Arthur Lemke for the 2nd Ward; Mario VanDerHeyden for the 3rd Ward; and Kimberly Malay for the 5th Ward.

Masiokas expects most will attend the meeting, but the group had difficulty notifying Osborne.

Incumbents are 1st Ward Alderman Jon Monken, 2nd Ward Alderman Cliff Carrignan, 3rd Ward Alderman Bill Turner, 4th Ward Alderman Jo Krieger and 5th Ward Alderman Maureen Lewis. Krieger is running unopposed.

The meeting likely will end by 9 p.m., Masiokas said. He expects it will include time for candidates to speak and opportunities for questions.

2R2R formed about six months ago and is affiliated with other community groups, Masiokas said.

He said it is planning a forum later this month for the mayoral candidates: John Rabchuk, Ray Rogina, Jotham Stein and Jake Wyatt.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.