50°FOvercastFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

Write-in candidate seeks District 302 school board seat

Published: Friday, Feb. 8, 2013 5:30 a.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, March 6, 2013 2:01 p.m. CDT

SUGAR GROVE – A write-in candidate is pursuing one of three open seats on the Kaneland School District 302 board in April.

Elburn resident Veronica Bruhl said she filed her petition to be a write-in candidate last week. She’s the third person to run for three open school board seats. Board President Cheryl Krauspe and Pedro Rivas filed nominating petitions and will be on the ballot.

Bruhl said she needs to get at least 50 votes as a write-in candidate to be seated on the board.

This is the second school board election in which she has participated. She lost a bid for election in 2007 in a contested election while she was living in Virgil.

Bruhl said she has been active with the school district since her three children started attending school at Kaneland.

She has a third-grader, second-grader and kindergartner.

“I’ve been very, very involved with the school district,” she said.

Bruhl, 41, is president of the Kaneland Foundation, and she previously served as vice president of the Kaneland Foundation. She’s been involved in the foundation for the past five years.

She also serves on the district’s Citizen Advisory Committee and Finance Advisory Committee.

She earned her doctorate in education from Northern Illinois University, where she earned her master’s and bachelor’s degrees.

Before she started her career in training development with a focus on educating corporate employees, Bruhl said she worked as an adjunct professor at Roosevelt University and DePaul University.

“I’m a lifelong learner. I believe in making sure people can acquire the information they need to acquire ... and for people to become better at whatever they need to do,” she said, adding that she’s vocal when she sees something that needs to be corrected.

She encourages everyone who lives within district boundaries to get involved with the school, regardless of whether they have children who attend school because everyone pays taxes to the district.

“Everyone should care about wanting the best for children,” she said.

Write-in candidates for the April 9 election: • Batavia alderman: Steve Holland, Drew McFadden, Pat Purcell • Geneva Township clerk: John Carlson, Geoffrey Carreiro, Debbie Draus • Sugar Grove Library trustee: Pat Graceffa • Lily Lake trustee: Raymond Ivancic • Kaneland District 302 trustee: Veronica Bruhl, Peter Lopatin • Sugar Grove Township trustee: Mike Fagel, Laurene Geary • St. Charles clerk: Nancy Garrison • Kaneville Township trustee: Cliff Hill • Fox River & Countryside Fire/Rescue District Trustee: Craig Conn

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.