47°FFog/MistFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

24 people apply for RTA director post

Published: Friday, March 29, 2013 5:30 a.m. CDT

GENEVA – The chance to land a part-time government job that pays $25,000 a year but comes with full-time benefits has prompted two dozen current and former public officials and others to apply to be Kane County’s next representative on the Regional Transportation Authority’s Board of Directors.

Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen released the list of applicants Thursday.

Lauzen likely will appoint the county’s RTA representative next month, after a selection advisory panel he impaneled submits a list of three finalists to him.

The list of names include current and former Kane County officials and others who have served in public posts throughout the county.

The list of applicants seeking the job, which includes health insurance and a pension, include:

Former County Board member Jim Mitchell, who served as one Lauzen’s campaign chairmen during Lauzen’s run for countywide office; St. Charles Mayor Don DeWitte; former Kane County Auditor Bill Keck; former Kane County Transportation Director Nabi Fakrodden; County Board member Mike Donahue; former County Board members Bonnie Kunkel and Tom Van Cleave.

Also on the list are former St. Charles Mayor and candidate for County Board chairman, Sue Klinkhamer; former Carpentersville village president and candidate for County Board chairman Bill Sarto; West Dundee Village President Larry Keller; North Aurora Village President Dale Berman; retired judge Manuel Barbosa; and Sugar Grove Village Board member Mari Johnson.

The list is rounded out by Gustavo Cuevas, Gilbert Feliciano, Donald Glaze, Frank Imhoff, Michael McDonnell, Gregory Meyers, Jay Moffat, Bob Moga, Jim Pilmer, David Reece and Bernard Thomas.

The position will become open when the term of current Kane County RTA representative and former County Board member Jan Carlson expires this year. Carlson has served on the RTA board since he was appointed to the position by former County Board Chairman Karen McConnaughay.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.