42°FOvercastFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

Incumbents retain Sugar Grove library seats; Graceffa thanks supporters

Published: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 7:17 a.m. CDT

SUGAR GROVE – Robert Bergman said he has been excited about the recent activity at the Sugar Grove Public Library.

Hours have been expanded, and the cafe inside of the library is set to reopen.

According to unofficial election results, Bergman and Edward DeBartolo won six-year terms on the library board in Tuesday's election, holding off a challenge from write-in candidate Pat Graceffa.

DeBartolo had 1,065 votes, and Bergman had 894. According to unofficial results, Graceffa received 421 write-in votes.

"I'm happy to serve the people of the library district and do what I can to help out," Bergman said.

Bergman has said he also is looking to boost the library's collection. The incumbent alluded to recent controversy in the district, a time in which the district switched directors and board members heard from protesters.

"I really believe we are going in the right direction, and that's because of what we've done over the last two years to make things go that way," Bergman said. "It's not been easy, but life's like that."

Graceffa, who had been president of the Friends of the Library organization, sought to appear on the ballot, but her petition was not certified. She decided to run as a write-in candidate. In her campaign, Graceffa supported establishing a long-term plan, saying the public still has not seen a long-term plan update. She had said the library needed "an up-to-date, planned direction."

"I would like to thank everyone who voted on April 9, 2013," Graceffa said in an email. "I lost the election, but I won so much more in the form of friendship and support from so many library district residents. Congratulations to Ed DeBartolo and Bob Bergman on their wins, and I know they will do their best to serve our library district. I will always love and support libraries, especially our own Sugar Grove Public Library."

Other candidates were unopposed – Anthony Oliver won a four-year term and Louise Coffman won a two-year term.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.