41°FOvercastFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

Wojciechowski, Linden, Childress win in fire districts

Published: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 9:40 a.m. CDT

Voters in the Elburn and Sugar Grove fire protection districts have registered their choices to oversee operations at their local fire stations.

Tuesday, newcomer Cheryl Wojciechowski secured a seat on the Sugar Grove Fire Protection District Board of Trustees, replacing outgoing fire district trustee Scott Stalcup.

Wojciechowski, a mother of three who has volunteered in area schools for years, will be joined on the board by David Linden, an incumbent who voters returned to the board for another term.

Wojciechowski and Linden outpaced challenger John Guddendorf Jr., a Kane County Division of Transportation construction manager, in the Sugar Grove Fire District race.

According to unofficial vote totals, Linden received the most votes with 846 votes, while Wojciechowski collected 780 votes. Guddendorf received 742 votes.

The candidates said they did not believe any major changes were needed within the fire district, but they believed they could best help the district prepare for the future.

In the Elburn and Countryside Fire Protection District, candidate James Childress, a Geneva Public Works employee, bested candidate Stephen Fuller, a retired firefighter from St. Charles.

According to unofficial vote totals reported Tuesday, Childress received 572 votes to Fuller's 493 to win a seat on the three-person board.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.