35°FFog/MistFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

Tri-Cities, Kaneland teachers nominated for educator awards

Published: Wednesday, April 17, 2013 5:43 p.m. CDT

Educators from Kaneland School District 302, St. Charles School District 303 and Geneva School District 304 are among 30 nominated for the Kane County educator of the year awards, the Kane County Regional Office of Education has announced.

The 38th annual Kane County Educator of the Year Awards Banquet is set for May 3 at the Q Center, 1405 N. Fifth St., St. Charles.

Awards presented that evening will include elementary educator of the year, middle school educator of the year, high school educator of the year, administrative educator of the year, associate educator of the year, support staff award, regional superintendents award and Kane County educator of the year award.

All nominees receive special recognition as distinguished educators.

The Kaneland nominees are Pamela Berth, principal's secretary, Blackberry Creek; Mark Meyer, teacher, Kaneland High School; Patricia Reeder, teacher, Harter Middle School; Heather Weiss, assistant principal, Harter Middle School; and Rachael Wilson, teacher, John Shields Elementary.

The St. Charles nominees are Robert Freitag, counselor, St. Charles North High School; Virginia "Ginny" Gaspar, teacher, Thompson Middle School; and Thomas Straiker, teacher, St. Charles East High School.

The Geneva nominees are Stephen Downen, custodian, Geneva High School; Lisa Gillette, teacher, Geneva High School; Mary Gobel, teacher, Geneva Middle School South; Ellyn Romoser, special education preschool teacher, Friendship Station Preschool; and Rebecca Schwab, guidance counselor, Geneva Middle School North.

Linda Hensel, instructional assistant for Mid-Valley Cooperative, also is nominated.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.