Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.

Kaneland Connection: Chico’s gets liquor license; public hearing set on fire station

ELBURN – The Elburn Village Board gave a thumbs-up Monday night to a liquor license for Chico’s Tacos, which opened last year at 107 Valley Drive in Elburn.

The restaurant is owned by the Lopez family, which includes Felipe and Juanita Lopez and their sons.

It is named for one of the sons, Chico Lopez.

When the restaurant opened, it occupied a small area with limited seating, and owners said they intended to become a sit-down restaurant.

That was achieved earlier this year, with the launch of a large seating area.

The liquor license was the next step, and on Monday, Chico’s became the second business in town to be awarded an E-1 liquor license. Papa G’s is the other.

Village Administrator Erin Willret explained that for establishments to be awarded such licenses, food has to be more than 50 percent of their sales, and they can’t sell packaged liquor.

The move earned unanimous approval from board members.

Public hearing on fire station

A public hearing is set for 7 p.m. June 4 as the Elburn Planning Commission will hear comments for and against the construction of a new fire station in the village.

The Elburn and Countryside Fire Protection District is aiming to build a new station at Route 38 and North First Street in Elburn.

Fire Chief Kelly Callaghan told officials last week that the department’s current location, at 210 E. North St. in Elburn, is too small, at 20,000 square feet.

The new station would be more than twice as large – 41,930 square feet.

Callaghan said the department has been saving funds for such a move, and it would not seek funds from taxpayers for the project.

He said the cost was expected to be between $8 million and $10 million.

Middle school track success

School District 302 issued a news release Monday offering congratulations to the 28 members of the Kaneland Harter Middle School track team that took part in last weekend’s Illinois Elementary School Association State Track Meet in Peoria.

Harter’s eighth-grade girls team scored 35 points and finished second to Cahokia Wirth (42 points).

Eighth-grade girls participating included Nicole Sreenan, Maddie Keifer, Nina Rotter, Becca Richtman, Charity Montalbano, Kristen Siebert, Carley Elliott, Rachel Goress, Aly Jesionowski and Lexie Guerra.

Eighth-grade boys participating included Connor Hoeft, Lio Arrendondo, Adam Rivas, Brock Harner, Matt Noel, Seth Howlett and Matt Redman.

Seventh-grade girls participating included Meghan Andrews, Crystal Durham, Mallory Burgin, Shanya Hurston, Jamie Martens, Kami Buza, Sandra Gale, Brooke Delahanty and Olivia Swindle.

Seventh-grade boys participating included Tyler Nance and Calvin McDonald.

Kaneland GIVE program

Kaneland High School recognized students who participated in volunteer work through its GIVE program, which stands for Generosity Involves Volunteer Effort.

Students were recognized for at least 40 hours of service, which could be done in conjunction with organizations or for work at school.

Students with at least 80 hours of volunteer service were Dave Barnhart, Hailey Boyd, Jaemee Cordero, Melyssa Cordero, Marshall Farthing, Shannon Gilkey, Tyler Hill, Ryan Koeppen, Alexander Kovach, Stephen McCracken, Nicholas Messina and Aaron Steenwyck.

Students with at least 40 hours of volunteer service were Amada Felella, Spencer Good, Brooke Harner, Kevin Healy, Amelia Likeum, Kellyn McMullan, Cody Pitstick, Spencer Serwin and Taylor Spooner.

• Al Lagattolla is the news editor of the Kane County Chronicle. Write to him at

Loading more