Mostly Cloudy
46°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

Gresey: Chronicle earns IPA accolades

Published: Saturday, June 22, 2013 5:31 a.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, June 24, 2013 10:52 a.m. CDT

The Kane County Chronicle took home 10 awards at this year’s Illinois Press Association Excellence in News Contest. The awards ceremony took place June 14 at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Springfield.

Two first-place awards went to Chronicle news editor Al Lagattolla, as well as fellow Shaw Media employees Joan Oliver and Chelsea McDougall, in the categories of community service and news reporting-series. The awards were for “Confronting the bully,” a four-day project that published in September.

“Impeccably executed, this bullying series puts human faces on this all-too-common scourge,” wrote those who judged the bullying project in the IPA’s news reporting-series category. “Thorough reporting coupled with supporting graphics, sidebars and like make this entry stand out in a competitive category.”

In addition, sports editor Jay Schwab received a first-place award for best sports column.

Jay also received an honorable mention for best sports feature. In that same category, Chronicle sports reporter Kevin Druley picked up a second-place award.

Another second-place award – and a third-place award – went to reporter Jonathan Bilyk in the business/economic reporting category.

A third-place award also went to the Chronicle staff for best website. And honorable mentions went to reporter Ashley Rhodebeck in the government beat reporting category, and photo editor Sandy Bressner in the photo series category.

Last year, the Chronicle received five awards from IPA, including a first-place award for best sports story.

Entries in the IPA news contest are judged in six categories based on publication frequency and total circulation.

• Kathy Gresey is editor of the Kane County Chronicle. Contact her at or 630-845-5368.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.