42°FOvercastFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

St. Charles liquor commission nominees announced

Published: Monday, July 8, 2013 4:20 p.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, July 8, 2013 6:25 p.m. CDT

ST. CHARLES – Mayor Ray Rogina has announced the two aldermen and the two St. Charles residents who have been nominated to serve on the city's newly formed liquor commission.

Council members include Ward 2 Alderman Rita Anne Payleitner and Ward 5 Alderman Maureen Lewis. The two city residents include Charles A. Amenta II, who has lived in St. Charles for six years, and Robert Gehm, who has lived in St. Charles for 23 years, according to a news release from the city of St. Charles.

Rogina will continue to serve as liquor commissioner, and the other members of the commission will serve as advisory members.

Amenta is a financial representative at Northwestern Mutual and serves on the Reneaux Manor Homeowners Association Board, states the release. Gehm has more than 30 years of business experience in accounting, finance and project management, and has also volunteered with several local organizations, according to the release.

“The creation of the Local Liquor Control Commission puts a solid process in place to regulate liquor-related issues in St. Charles,” said Mayor Rogina in the news release. “Both resident nominees will bring useful talents to the Commission and I am grateful to them for agreeing to invest their time and effort to further improve our community.”

The full city council still needs to approve the nominations, which are slated to be reviewed at the July 15 meeting, according to the release.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.