Partly Cloudy
42°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

Student to compete in Distinguished Young Woman of Illinois scholarship competition

Published: Thursday, Aug. 8, 2013 5:17 p.m. CDT
(Provided photo)
Claire Davis

ST. CHARLES – Claire Davis of St. Charles and other high school senior girls from across Illinois will gather in Schaumburg on Aug. 9 for the Distinguished Young Women of Illinois program, a national scholarship program for high school girls.

The program participants will compete for college scholarships and the opportunity to represent the state as the 2014 Distinguished Young Woman of Illinois.

The program is open to the public and will begin at 6:30 p.m. in Schaumburg High School Step Room No. 224, 1100 W. Schaumburg Road, Schaumburg.

Tickets, which will be available for purchase at the door, cost $10 for adults and $5 for children and students. Doors will open at 6 p.m.

The 11 participants competing will be evaluated by a panel of five judges in the categories of scholastics (20 percent), interview (25 percent), fitness (15 percent), self-expression (15 percent) and talent (25 percent).

The participant selected as the Distinguished Young Woman of Illinois will advance to the national level at the 57th Distinguished Young Women National Finals in June 2014 in Mobile, Ala.

The winner will join 49 other state representatives in competing for scholarships and the opportunity to represent the program as the Distinguished Young Woman of America.

The women competing for the Illinois titles are Davis; Georgi Yaekel of Freeburg; Jessica Diaz of Chicago; Kayla Lloyd of Olympia Fields; Lisa Bennatan of Lake Forest; Paris Morgan of Chicago; Rachel Tucker of Plainfield; Rebecca Tessarolo of Schaumburg; Rucha Kulkarni of Schaumburg; Shannon Jessen of Hawthorn Woods; and Shayna Patt of Park Ridge.

For more information, visit

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.

More News