Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.

Lauzen releases short list for RTA/Metra appointment

Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen released a list of 11 applicants who are being considered on a "short list" to be appointed as the county's representative to the Regional Transportation Authority and Metra.

The applicants are Don DeWitte, former mayor of St. Charles; Carl Dinwiddie of Batavia, retired from the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration and a local activist; D.J. Tegeler, a Geneva lawyer who ran and lost for circuit judge in 2010; Jake Wyatt of St. Charles, who lost to current Mayor Ray Rogina in the most recent St. Charles mayoral race; Bonnie Kunkel, an Aurora attorney and former Democratic Kane County board member who chose not to seek another term in the most recent election; and Manuel Barbosa, a retired federal bankruptcy judge who lives in Elgin.
Also on the list are Edward Evert, Mary Fleischmann, Joseph Galvan, Glen Holland and Bernard Thomas.

"I feel honored based on the names on the list and their experience," said Dinwiddie, who served as chief of the Central Region for the National Transportation Safety Board for 33 years. "That's about all I can say at this point."

Tegeler echoed Dinwiddie's sentiments.

"I consider it a very high honor to even be considered by Chairman Lauzen and the County Board for such a prestigious position," Tegeler said.
Interviews of half of the candidates will be completed by Monday.
In a statement, Lauzen said he was "delighted with the quality and quantity of applicants" and grateful for work by board members Debra Allen, Drew Frasz, Brian Pollock and T. R. Smith to help narrow the field.

The criteria to be chosen includes a proven record of administrative, management and budgetary skills, detailed knowledge of the county's government policies, according to Lauzen's statement.

The chairman also alluded to the problems the current transit boards are having – with resignations, investigations and accusations of caving in to clout.

"Friends have kidded me – and several applicants –  that a full psychological assessment should be conducted on any person who would dare to apply for these duties," according to Lauzen's statement.

"That is further reason why I am doubly grateful for these distinguished citizens' courage and obvious competence to serve."

Lauzen invited anyone with questions they would like him to ask the candidates by call ing 630-232-5931 or emailing

Loading more