Heavy Rain Fog/Mist
42°FHeavy Rain Fog/MistFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

Batavia names five seniors as National Merit winners

Published: Thursday, Sept. 26, 2013 5:30 a.m. CDT

BATAVIA – Batavia School District 101 has announced that five seniors from Batavia High School have been named “Commended Students” in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Brandon Ayersman, Evan Carr, Daniel Mace, Mallory Morris and Samantha Spengler are among approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation that are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  

“These students are great leaders at Batavia High School,” Batavia High School Principal JoAnne Smith said in a news release. “They have certainly accomplished a lot academically and have many achievements outside of the classroom as well.”

The students will receive a letter of commendation from Batavia High School and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program.

Commended Students placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2014 competition by taking the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

“Their accomplishments are a reflection of their hard work, as well as their parents and members of the Batavia community that have helped to get them to this point,” Smith said.

Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of the students do become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses, according to the release.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.