Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.
Local Government

Maple Park appoints seven to plan commission

MAPLE PARK – For the first time in two years, the village again will have a fully-appointed and active plan commission.

Tuesday, Maple Park Village President Kathy Curtis was expected to present the village board with a list of seven names to be appointed to the panel responsible for reviewing any new developments that might come to the village in the future.

“We don’t have anything pending right now,” Curtis said. “But the economy seems to be picking up a bit, and we have had some land sell around us.

“So, this will position us for the future, for when those plans come in.”

The list of appointees include Art Maercker, George “Nick” Davidson, Robert Rowlett, Jeff Ramirez, John Paul “JP” Dries, Chuck Miller and Lorenza Catanag.

Maercker will serve as the commission’s chairman and would be appointed to a three-year term.

Davidson and Rowlett also were to be appointed to three-year terms, while Ramirez, Dries, and Miller were to be appointed to two-year terms. Catanag was to be appointed for one year on the commission.

Curtis said the appointees represent a “nice blend of newer residents and more established residents of the village.”

Maercker, Davidson, Rowlett and Ramirez had served on the plan commission before, Curtis said, while Dries, Miller and Catanag will each serve for the first time.

She said a lack of development activity had played a role in the village’s decision to let the plan commission go inactive.

“But now we’re getting it re-established,” Curtis said.

The Maple Park Village Board was expected to vote on the appointments Tuesday night.

Loading more