Light Rain Fog/Mist
43°FLight Rain Fog/MistFull Forecast
2017 Kane County Chronicle Best of the Fox

Hultgren praises Fermilab scientists, Nobel Prize winners for physics breakthrough

U.S. Rep. Randy Hultgren, R-Winfield, issued the following news release:

Congressman Randy Hultgren on Wednesday congratulated Fermilab scientists who played a key role in advancing the theory of what is now known as the Higgs boson. This week, scientists Peter Higgs and Francois Englert, who developed the theory, were awarded the Nobel Prize in physics.

Following are Rep. Hultgren’s prepared remarks:

"I rise to congratulate the scientists at Fermilab in my district for their work to find the Higgs particle.

"Yesterday, Peter Higgs and Francois Englert were awarded the Nobel Prize in physics for independently proposing a theory for the Higgs boson.

"That theory, initially rejected in the 1960s, led the high energy physics community on a decades-long quest to find the particle that gives mass to matter.

"While this discovery has been largely credited to CERN in Europe, America has been a leading force in the fundamental science that made identifying the Higgs possible.

"Hundreds of scientists from my district are actively working on experiments at CERN.

"They played a leadership role building the Large Hadron Collider.

"We should all congratulate these scientists for advancing the basic understanding of our universe, necessary for forging ahead into the next great frontier.

"America is made great by our leadership in discovery sciences, so let's show them the support necessary to continue and expand our own science ecosystem."


Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.

More News