Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.

Candidates make last filings for local, state, national offices

Kane County Treasurer David Rickert filed nominating papers Monday, the last day to file, seeking the Republican nomination in the March 18 primary for another term.

Also filing in a contest for the Republican nomination for Michael Donahue’s District 11 seat are John Martin and Thomas Matson, both of Geneva. Donahue said he would not seek another term.

Republicans Mark Davoust and incumbent Jack Cunningham filed for county clerk and Kevin Williams and Donald Kramer filed for sheriff as Sheriff Pat Perez is not seeking another term.

William Mayes Sr., of Aurora, filed papers seeking the Democratic nomination for sheriff.

In another county board race, incumbent Melisa Taylor will face challenger Bill Lenert for county board. Both are of Sugar Grove.

Those who filed for the primary but without challengers are Republicans Phil Lewis and Barbara Wojnicki of St. Charles.

U.S. Rep. Randy Hultgren, R-Winfield, filed, seeking another term. Democrats  John Hosta of Spring Grove and Dennis Anderson of Gurnee will vie for their party’s nomination to run against Hultgren.

For Illinois Gov., Republicans Dan Rutherford of Chenoa, state Sen. Kirk Dillard of Hinsdale, state Sen. Bill Brady of Bloomington, Bruce Rauner of Winnetka and Peter Jones of Franklin Park are all seeking their party’s nomination.

Democrats also seeking their party’s nomination are incumbent Pat Quinn and  challenger Tio Hardiman of Hillside.

State Sen. Jim Oberweis filed as a Republican for U.S. Senator, vying for the nomination along with Douglas Truax of Downers Grove, Armen Alvarez of Chicago and William Lee of Rockton.

Incumbent U.S. Sen. Dick Durbin filed as a Democrat.

For the 11th Congressional District, Republicans seeking their party’s nomination are Chris Balkema of Channahon, Darlene Senger of Naperville, Ian Bayne of Aurora and Craig Robbins of Lisle.

Incumbent Bill Foster, D-Naperville, filed for another term. 

For the 50th state Senate District, Beth Goncher of Aurora, Keith Wheeler of Oswego, Julie Cosimo of Oswego and William Keck of Sugar Grove filed as Republicans. Keck is the former Kane County auditor. Goncher is the legislative aide to state Rep. Tim Schmitz, R-Batavia.

Also filing were state Rep. Mike Fortner, R-West Chicago, an incumbent for the 49th District.

Loading more