48°FOvercastFull Forecast

Berman named North Auroran of the Year

Published: Thursday, Jan. 30, 2014 5:30 a.m. CST
(Photo by North Aurora Lions Club member Bill Park)
North Aurora Lions Club President Tait Lundgren (left), presented North Aurora Village President Dale Berman (right) with the 2013 North Auroran of the Year award Tuesday during the club's annual awards dinner.

NORTH AURORA – North Aurora Village President Dale Berman has a lot of community pride for North Aurora, a place he has called home for 52 years.

“I’ve worked hard to keep it as a great community and improve it,” Berman said.

The North Aurora Lions Club on Tuesday presented Berman with the 2013 North Auroran of the Year award during the club’s annual awards dinner. Berman said he was surprised and humbled by the honor.

“It is nice to be recognized,” Berman said. “It has been a labor of love.”

Berman, 80, first served as North Aurora village president from 1985 to 1989, and he returned to the office in 2009. He was re-elected in 2013.

He served as a village trustee for 14 years, and he has been a North Aurora Lions Club member since 1970. Berman also serves as the chairman of the board of directors for the Aurora Area Convention and Visitors Bureau.

The bureau serves 10 communities, including Aurora, North Aurora, Batavia and Sugar Grove.

Berman has served on other boards over the years, including the Fox Valley Park District Board and the Waubonsee Community College Foundation Board.

Fellow Lions Club member and North Aurora Village Trustee Mark Gaffino, who received the North Auroran of the Year award last year, recommended that Berman receive the award, along with Lions Club member Mark Carroll.

“It’s well-deserved and long overdue,” Gaffino said. “He has a love for the village like the rest of us. He always has North Aurora’s best interest. He is always willing to listen or step in.”

North Aurora Police officer John Kerlin received the 2013 Police Officer of the Year award. Kerlin was nominated for the award in part for the actions he took Nov. 5, when he was dispatched to check on the well-being of an elderly citizen.

In addition, North Aurora Fire Chief Steve Miller received the North Aurora Firefighter of the Year award, and Dr. Tom Brooks received the North Aurora Lion of the Year award.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.