Overcast
57°FOvercastFull Forecast

Letter: Support Walgreens project

Published: Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2014 5:30 a.m. CDT

To the Editor:

BEI Properties Inc. is guardedly optimistic that the proposal for the new Walgreens in downtown Batavia will soon become a reality. Improved safety and convenience for both pedestrians and vehicles, as well as enhanced customer service and availability for Batavians, are important components of the new Walgreens project. On Tuesday, Feb. 11, at 7:30 p.m., Batavia aldermen are set to discuss the Walgreens proposal at their joint Committee of the Whole meeting.

The vote for approval is scheduled to then follow at a meeting on Monday, Feb. 17. Our intention at BEI Properties is to provide the Batavia community with a project we can all be proud of and benefit from. The Walgreens project will bring increased accessibility and ease for Batavians, allowing them – among many things – the option of a prescription pick-up, drive-thru window to simply and quickly meet their needs.

We would appreciate your support and encourage you to contact your alderman and the mayor to endorse this project.

Mayor Jeffrey D. Shielke – mayor@cityofbatavia.net; 1st Ward Alderman Garran Sparks – gsparks@cityofbatavia.net; 1st Ward Alderman Michael F. O’Brien – mobrien@cityofbatavia.net; 2nd Ward Alderman Alan Wolff – awolff@cityofbatavia.net; 2nd Ward Alderman Martin Callahan – mcallaha@cityofbatavia.net; 3rd Ward Alderman Dan Chanzit – dchanzit@cityofbatavia.net; 3rd Ward Alderman Kyle Hohmann – khohmann@cityofbatavia.net; 4th Ward Alderman Susan Stark – sstark@cityofbatavia.net; 4th Ward Alderman Jamie Saam – jsaam@cityofbatavia.net; 5th Ward Alderman Lucy Thelin Atac – lthelina@cityofbatavia.net; 5th Ward Alderman Steve Vasilion – svasilio@cityofbatavia.net; 6th Ward Alderman Lisa Clark – lclark@cityofbatavia.net;  6th Ward Alderman Nicholas Cerone – ncerone@cityofbatavia.net; 7th Ward Alderman Dave Brown – dbrown@cityofbatavia.net; and 7th Ward Alderman Drew McFadden – dmcfadde@cityofbatavia.net.

Batavia Enterprises Inc.

Batavia

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.

More News

Watch Now

Player embeded on all Kane County Chronicle instances for analytics purposes.

Aurora Central Catholic vs. Wheaton Academy

More videos »