26°FOvercastFull Forecast

Middle-school students receive writing awards

Published: Thursday, April 17, 2014 5:22 p.m. CST
(Provided photo)
Not all winners are pictured.

Eighteen students from Tri City middle schools received medals and certificates of honor for original fiction, non-fiction and poetry from the American Association of University Women Batavia-Geneva-St. Charles branch at a ceremony and reception April 10 in St. Charles.

The winners were selected from 289 entries in the student-writing contest, which the AAUW Branch has had annually for the past 35 years.

The winners by category are: • Eighth Grade Fiction: Stephen Parao (Haines) took first; Meng Yian Shi (Wredling) took second; and Avalon Bruno (Wredling) took third.

• Eighth Grade Non-Fiction: Danny Buetow (Wredling) took first; Breana Carlino (Wredling) took second; and Alec Schnitker (Wredling) took third.

• Eighth Grade Poetry: Joyanna Osborne (Wredling) took first; Meredith Reber (Haines) took second; and Dylon Zaworski (Wredling) took third.

• Seventh Grade Fiction: Zoe Stone (Rotolo) took first; Maeve Huttner (Wredling) took second; and Brigid Milette (Thompson) took third.

• Seventh Grade Non-Fiction: Matthew Nagler (Wredling) took first; Tara Wilczak (Haines) took second; and Connor Holland (Rotolo) took third.

• Seventh Grade Poetry: Emily Tratar (Rotolo) took first; Kiana Dutcher (Wredling) took second; and Taylor Keene (Wredling) took third.

Susan Kaye Quinn, best-selling young adult fiction writer and author of the Mindjack series, was the keynote speaker.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Kane County Chronicle.

Watch Now

Player embeded on all Kane County Chronicle instances for analytics purposes.

Underground Polar Express Run finish line

More videos »