Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.

Rotary Club awards $16K in scholarships

Man honored with Lifetime Rotarian Award at 100th birthday party

ST. CHARLES – The Rotary Club of St. Charles awarded $16,000 to 10 scholarship recipients May 15 to help support their college education and vocational pursuits.

Special acknowledgment was given to recipient Hannah Zimmer, who was awarded the inaugural John H. Wredling Scholarship Award. The scholarship, in Wredling’s name, will annually recognize the highest-ranking scholarship recipient based on the merits of community service, financial need and academic achievement.

The scholarship was created in honor of John H. Wredling, a Rotary Club of St. Charles member who received the Lifetime Rotarian Award in March while celebrating his 100th birthday.

Wredling is a World War II veteran, and former superintendent of St. Charles School District 303. He was honored with the award for his commitment to education, the community and Rotary.

The complete list of scholarship recipients is as follows:
• Maria Ranieri of St. Charles (Illinois State University)
• Caroline Elkin of St. Charles (Dickinson College)
• Daniel Beckman of St. Charles (The Ohio State University)
• Mary MacCarthy of St. Charles (Butler University)
• Rachel Baumgartner of St. Charles (Northern Illinois University)
• Claire Davis of St. Charles (Indiana University)
• Michael Nelson of St. Charles (Iowa State University)
• Ashley Montgomery of St. Charles (University of St. Francis)
• Alisha Hasan of West Chicago (University of Illinois)
• Zimmer of St. Charles (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Loading more