Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.

Editor’s Notebook: Chronicle wins 7 IPA awards

The Kane County Chronicle won seven awards – including one first-place award – in this year’s Illinois Press Association editorial contest, which took place Friday at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Springfield.

Designer/copy editor Rose De Leon won first place for best headline writing.

Third-place awards were for best special section (staff), best sports section (sports staff) and best sports column (sports reporter Kevin Druley).

Honorable mentions were for best website (staff), best sports column (sports editor Jay Schwab) and best sports feature (Kevin Druley).

Participants in the IPA contest included more than 100 daily and nondaily newspapers.

There were 35 categories in which to compete, and more than 3,500 entries were submitted for judging, according to a news release from the IPA.

Last year, the Kane County Chronicle won 10 awards in the IPA contest, including two first-place awards.

The year prior to that, the Chronicle won five awards, including one for first place.

“The IPA was founded in 1865 as an organization for Illinois publishers,” states the organization’s website. “It has evolved into the largest state newspaper association in the country, representing more than 400
daily and weekly newspapers.”

To learn more about the IPA, visit its website at

• Kathy Gresey is editor of the Kane County Chronicle and president of the Northern Illinois Newspaper Association Board. Contact her at or 630-845-5368. Learn more about NINA at

Loading more