Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.

Races shape up for March 20 primary

Republican and Democratic candidates have filed to compete for spots on the ballot in the March 20 primary election in races for county clerk, sheriff and county board districts, in addition to state house and congressional seats.

Stanton “Stan” Bond of Montgomery filed as a Republican in the county clerk race and will be going up against incumbent John “Jack” Cunningham of Aurora.

For Kane County sheriff on the Republican ballot, incumbent Donald Kramer of Geneva will face off against Kevin Tindall of Sugar Grove, who currently works as a sergeant for the Kane County Sheriff’s Office.

Democrats are also fielding two candidates for sheriff: Ron Hain of Sugar Grove, who currently serves as a sergeant for the Kane County Sheriff’s Office, and Willie Mayes of Aurora, who currently serves a lieutenant for the Kane County Sheriff’s Office.

Republicans have two candidates vying in the primary for the Kane County Board District 13 seat. Incumbent Philip Lewis of St. Charles will face off against Steve Weber of St. Charles.

Incumbent and Republican Barbara Wojnicki of St. Charles has two other republicans looking to take her place representing Kane County Board District 15, including Robert Koonce and Austin Lawler, both of St. Charles.

The Democrats also have two candidates that have filed for the District 15 seat. Gerald Palmere of Elgin and Lucas Strom of Maple Park each tossed their hat into the ring.

State Rep. Mike Fortner, R-West Chicago, recently announced that he won’t run for re-election, which leaves the field up for new Republican candidates, including Nic Zito of Wayne and Tonia Jane Khouri of Aurora. A Democrat, Karina Villa of West Chicago, has filed to enter the race as well.

The Democrats are fielding seven candidates in the 6th Congressional District primary race, including Kelly Mazeski of Barrington Hills; Amanda Howland of Lake Zurich; Becky Anderson Wilkins of Naperville; Jennifer Zordani of Clarendon Hills; Sean Casten of Downers Grove; Ryan Huffman of Palatine; and Carole Cheney of Naperville. The winner of the Democratic primary will face off with incumbent Peter Roskam, R-Wheaton, who is running unopposed in the primary.

Two Republicans have filed to enter the general primary for the 11th Congressional District: Nick Stella of Darien and Constant “Connor” Vlakancic of Naperville. The winner of that race will go up against incumbent U.S. Rep. Bill Foster, D-Naperville, in the general election.

U.S. Rep. Randy Hultgren, R-Plano, is running unopposed in the primary on the Republican ballot. Democrats will have seven candidates to choose from, including George Weber of Lakewood; Matthew Brolley of Montgomery; Lauren Underwood of Naperville; Victor Swanson of Batavia; John Hosta of Spring Grove; Jim Walz of Gurnee; and Daniel Roldan-Johnson of Volo.

Write-in candidates will have until Jan 18 to file, according to the Kane County Clerk’s Office election website.

Loading more