Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Want to make sure you receive the latest local news? We’ve got you covered! Get the best in local news, sports, community events, with focus on what’s coming up for the weekend. Weekly mail subscription offers

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from Kane County Chronicle, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Sign up for free email alerts. We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox.

36 Kane County educators to be honored at annual dinner

Teachers, support staff, administrators among those nominated

ST. CHARLES – The 44th annual Kane County Educator of the Year Awards Banquet will be held May 3 at the Q Center in St. Charles, the Kane County Regional Office of Education announced in a news release.  

This awards dinner provides an opportunity to honor outstanding members of the education profession in Kane County and to promote awareness of quality education that is being provided in local schools. 

Special recognition is also given to those retiring from education this school year.  

Local nominating committees, consisting of teachers and administrators, nominated the 36 educators. Those nominated are seen as having the respect and admiration of students, parents and co-workers, the release stated.  

The nominees play active and useful roles in their communities and also in the schools, often distinguishing themselves as leaders.

Those nominated from St. Charles District 303 are Karen Kobler, Denise Leatherman, Sandra Borgstrom, Deanna Benson-Bressler, Anthony Cerqua, Susan Sensor, Stephen Morrill and Tanis Simoncelli.

Those nominated from Kaneland District 302 are Christine Pernell, Sandra Faletto, Thomas Huels, Stephanie Unger and Cynthia Marie Campisi.

Derek Sutor was nominated from Geneva District 304 and Joseph Franz was nominated from Batavia District 101.

All nominees will receive special recognition as Distinguished Educators, the release stated.

The categories includes educators from preschool through high school, support staff, administrator, private or parochial school and Kane County Educator of the Year.

The winner of the Kane County Educator of the Year Award will receive a $3,000 grant to be used in their classroom, the release stated.

Loading more