ST. CHARLES – Those looking to grab a piece of the historic Pheasant Run Resort will have a final chance to do so.
Earlier this month, thousands of items from the resort – which closed its doors in March after 57 years of being in operation – were auctioned off as part of a four day online auction. The fifth and final day of the online auction recently began at grafeauction.com.
Everything from dishes to Pheasant Run throw pillows are being auctioned off. According to Grafe Auction's website, more than 700 additional items are being auctioned off.
The online auction will end on Sept. 16 and the public will be able preview and inspect items from 3 to 6 p.m. Sept. 15. Questions can be directed by calling or texting Judd Grafe at 507 254-1184.
The iconic resort closed its doors March 1 following a failed attempt to auction off the resort. It had first opened in February 1963 and was annexed by the city in 1965.
Edward McArdle opened Pheasant Run Resort in February 1963 on land that was previously a dairy farm owned by Colonel Edward Baker. Florida-based St. Charles Resort, LLC wants to divide the 46.13 acres located at the southeast corner of Route 64 and Kautz Road into three commercial lots.
The Mega Center and the adjacent parking field comprise lot one and lot two consists of the former resort buildings. Lot three is the mostly undeveloped corner parcel at Main Street and Kautz Road. Speculation has been that a car dealership plans to purchase the 35,000 square-foot Mega Center, which opened in 1985 and served as an event space for Pheasant Run.